Announcements‎ > ‎

Champions 2013

posted 28 Aug 2013, 10:04 by Ben MacKinnon   [ updated 28 Aug 2013, 10:05 ]

Sleat & Strath were crowned Co-operative league champions at the weekend. As mentioned in our last post, Sleat & Strath only needed 2 points from their final three league games, or a slip up from Portree, in order to secure the title. The first of those three games were against south end rivals Kyleakin at home in Kinloch.

It would only be fitting for Sleat & Strath to win the league against Kyleakin this year, having lost the title to them on the final day of last season. Sleat & Strath made a great start, when just 3 minutes into the game, Connaire Yoxon finished off a fine move that started in defence. On the 18th minute mark they would find themselves two up thanks to James Munley heading in from a cross send into the 6 yard box from Calum Macrae. Kyleakin were struggling for any sort of response, but a fine performance from Normal "Raasay" Gilles in midfield prevented Sleat & Strath killing the game off in the first half.

Kyleakin came back at the hosts in the second half. Sleat & Straths back three of Bruce Neil, Sandy MacAskill and Iain Macpherson were outstanding, and John Davie was more than capable of handling anything that did get through. Kyleakin would put a sting in their own tail just 5 minutes into the second half. Jamie Graham swung in a corner that deflected off the back of a Kyleakin defender and into the net.

"Raasay" would get a reward for his fine performance for the visitors, finding space in the box to head home, but it was too little too late for Kyleakin. Connaire Yoxon once again latching onto a through ball before cooly chipping the keeper from the edge of the box on the 65th minute. And just a minute later, Connaire turned provider with Calum Mattinson latching onto his cross to fire home from close range.

Substitute Ali Spod had the final say on the 88th minute. A good finish inside the box for his debut goal gave Sleat & Strath a 6 - 1 victory, and the three points that secured them the 2013 Co-operative league title!